Nano Press
Facebook Twitter Instagram Google+ YouTube RSS Feed Italiano English Türkiye
FIBA Europe Cup 12/10/2017, 09.29

FIBA Europe Cup Regular Season field complete

Final groups to be confirmed Thursday

FIBA Europe Cup

The field for the FIBA Europe Cup Regular Season was confirmed on Wednesday evening, with Qualification Round 2 participants handed the last dozen tickets to the main stage of the competition.

Belfius Mons-Hainaut (BEL); Demir Insaat (TUR); Falco Vulcano (HUN); FC Porto (POR); Istanbul BBSK (TUR); Kormend (HUN); Nevezis (LTU); Proximus Spirou (BEL); and Szolnoki Olaj (HUN) progressed to the next phase as winners of their respective match-ups, joining ESSM Le Portel (FRA) who qualified a day earlier.

Three more places were claimed by the trio of Balkan Botevgrad (BUL); Bnei Rav-Bariach Herzliya (ISR); and Khimik (UKR), who filled the three slots allocated for the 'lucky losers' in Qualification Round 2, with the fourth-ranked Petrolina AEK (CYP) losing out to Balkan only after a tie-breaker after having the same goal differential.

The rest of the 32-team field was formed from teams arriving to the FIBA Europe Cup from the Basketball Champions League Qualification Rounds.

Regular Season

Group A: Telenet Antwerp Giants (BEL); Donar Groningen (NED); ESSM Le Portel (FRA); Bosna (BIH)

Group B: Avtodor Saratov (RUS); SL Benfica (POR); Nevezis (LTU); Bakken Bears (DEN)

Group C: Kataja Basket (FIN); Mornar Bar (MNE); FC Porto (POR); Kapfenberg Bulls (AUT)

Group D: Basic-Fit Brussels (BEL); Egis Kormend (HUN); Keravnos (CYP)

Group E: Lukoil Academic (BUL); U-BT Cluj-Napoca (ROU); Istanbul BBSK (TUR); Dinamo Tbilisi (GEO)

Group F: Alba Fehervar (HUN), Tsmoki-Minsk (BLR), Proximus Spirou (BEL)

Group G: Belfius Mons-Hainaut (BEL); Demir Insaat (TUR); Sigal Prishtina (KOS)

Group H: Szolnoki Olaj (HUN); Nizhny Novgorod (RUS); Falco Vulcano (HUN); Karposh Sokoli (MKD)

The three 'lucky losers' will be drawn into Groups D, F and G by FIBA Europe on Thursday, October 12 in the House of Basketball in Mies, Switzerland.

The Regular Season consists of eight (8) groups of four (4) teams each, with games played home and away in a round robin system. The two (2) best ranked teams from each group will advance to the Second Round,

The action will tip off on October 17 and conclude with the Finals in May 2018.

Click here to view the schedule for the Regular Season. 

E. Carchia

E. Carchia

Read also
Comments You must be registered to post a comment 0 Comments